“I think I need a sunrise, I’m tired of the sunset”

“She said I think I’ll go to Boston…

I think I’ll start a new life,

I think I’ll start it over, where no one knows my name,

I’ll get out of California, I’m tired of the weather…
I think I need a new town, to leave this all behind…
I think I need a sunrise, I’m tired of the sunset,
I hear it’s nice in the Summer, some snow would be nice”

– Boston, Augustana

I started this blog a couple of months ago, just thinking I could blog cool verses and quotes and different things God is teaching me, and hoping that maybe He could use me through that. Little did I know, that a couple of months later I would be embarking on a new adventure! So.. I don’t know how good I’ll actually be about posting, but I’d like to use this blog to keep friends & family (who want to follow it) up- to-date with what’s going on in my life.

In six days I will be on a plane, flying across the country to Boston. I’m starting a graduate program there that’s focused on Children’s Literature and writing, and with all of that I’m starting a new season in my life. I’m moving to a city I’ve never even visited where I don’t know anybody to begin a rigorous academic endeavor. Talk about starting with a clean slate! I’m scared to death and really trying not to even think about all the challenges this year will bring. But in spite of all that fear, I’m also confident that this is where God is leading me. I don’t know that that means I’ll finish the program and become a writer or go into publishing – it doesn’t make the end of the road any clearer, but it does give me what’s next.

So, I’m in California for a couple of days – just visiting my brother and his wife and their pet red panda (Sanuk). It’s been great to just enjoy the beautiful weather and wonderful company, both of which I already miss! And this week will be filled with spending time with friends and family and packing. Time is racing by on fast-forward, but I know will hit slow-motion when I’m in a new city.

One thought on ““I think I need a sunrise, I’m tired of the sunset”

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

