Buffalo Chicken Burritos, Skim Milk, & Other Ramblings

I made it! Here I am in Boston, Massachusetts!

My parents and I got here on Thursday night. We traveled all day only to be welcomed by a rude awakening… you can’t get anything to eat in Boston at 11 o’clock at night! Toto, we’re not in Vegas anymore!

It was kind of a stressful weekend getting everything settled with my room. I still feel like I’m just trying to get stuff checked off of a never-ending to-do list. But, we did manage to get out to Newbury Port to spend a day with some family friends, and spent one day walking along the “Freedom Trail”. I really enjoyed the “Freedom Trail”, there’s a ton of history here – the first public school, the first tavern, Paul Revere’s house and grave. All the buildings are older and made of brick, which I think is awesome since there are no brick buildings at home. The city is a lot smaller than I expected, and people aren’t as different as I thought they would be. There’s not too many heavy Boston accents, and everyone I met has been nice.

There have been a few little differences though that have annoyed me… we went to a burrito place last night where everything is biodegradable (even the plastic cups!). I thought this was really cool. Then I look at the menu and there was a Thai burrito, a buffalo chicken burrito with bleu cheese, a few others, and then a traditional Mexican burrito. Okay, so I know it’s not that big of a deal, but… what the heck!?! So, I ordered the Mexican burrito and it was actually decent – kind of just tasted like Chipotle.

Then I ordered an iced caramel machiato today at a coffee shop on campus and the lady asked if I wanted skim milk and I said 2% and she said it was the same. It’s not the same. Maybe this is a one person incident, I don’t really know. Skim milk is nonfat, and 2% is low-fat. There’s really a big difference, I hate skim milk. But, here I am in Boston so.. I guess I just have to let go of my ideas of the right and wrong ways, and be flexible and open to their ideas of skim milk and burritos and try to accept these new ways.

One other thing that’s surprised me since I’ve been here… It’s hot! My room doesn’t have AC, and I thought I could stand the heat so I haven’t bought a fan yet. But.. it’s really hot and humid. I had to buy a pair of shorts and a skirt, because it’s so hot and I didn’t bring anything but jeans. Right now it’s hotter here than it is in Vegas. So, I will be purchasing a fan very soon.

So, now that I’m finally getting all settled in, I’m ready to get this show on the road! I’m excited for my first class on Thursday. It was pretty cool meeting some of the students at Orientation last night. I feel a lot more confident after meeting everyone that even though this program will be challenging, I think I’ll be able to handle it. And, while my time at APU seemed to be a lot about the college experience and personal growth and development, I feel like my time here will be a lot more focused on my academic goals. I’m sure I’ll gain a lot from the experience still, but it’s not so much about the friends I make as what I get out of the classroom.

I thought it would be scarier starting over in a new city, but I feel like maybe God has been preparing me with various challenges along the way for this step in my life. Going to APU, I felt like my ground was ripped out from under me. It was hard to figure out who I was apart from everything I had known. But.. I guess now that I’m being faced with this new challenge, I feel like I’ve grown stronger than I had realized. I’m sure there will still be trials and difficulties, but I guess I’m just more ready for it than I thought I was.

Anyways… that’s just kind of my thoughts on the new and exciting adventure so far. I miss everyone already!! πŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “Buffalo Chicken Burritos, Skim Milk, & Other Ramblings

  1. Well it’s good that not everything is exactly the same…then it would be just like home and not a new experience at all. I’m so excited for this new chapter in your life. Take care of yourself and I can’t wait to read more soon! πŸ™‚

  2. Regan!!! This is SOOO awesome and I am SOOOO happy for you and glad that you took this step. You ARE and amazing strong person and you have grown so much since APU. Grad school is totally different. People have different goals and it is more focused on academics BUT you will be social, you will develop friendships, and you will learn a lot about yourself and grow into an even stronger person πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to hear about your Boston experience and chat and share life with you. Let’s make a phone date soon! Love you ❀

    P.S. I agree skim milk is NOT the same as 2%. I personally grew up on skim milk and anything else tastes like cream to me, haha. Maybe I belong in Boston because I think I may have ordered the Thai Burrito and if I were to randomly forgo my treasured tea and venture into the coffee world it would be plain latte with skim milk the next morning…

  3. Yay Regan! I’m so glad you are already feeling more comfortable that you expected. You are going to do so great! What an exciting opportunity! Sending love and a big hug!!! Cassie πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

