1 semester down, 3 to go!

I’ve been back in Vegas on winter break for about 2 1/2 weeks now. It’s been so great to be home, just enjoying my friends and family and my life here. I finally got my last grade yesterday, so I can officially say that I made it through my first semester of Grad school! My professor sent me my final graded paper back today with comments on it. I didn’t do too hot on the final paper, but her comments were pretty encouraging. She said unfortunately my final paper negatively impacted my grade even though she’d seen me improve over the semester, and suggested that it was due to the end of the semester burn out. I was actually really encouraged just to pass and hear her say she’d seen improvement in my writing. And, I was completely burnt out by the end of the semester. My brain was completely fried. But, now that I’ve rested up for a couple  of weeks I’m feeling more like myself. I’m not quite ready to go back yet, but I am ready to tackle the intense reading list I’ve been given over break.  Between reading and working the break is flying by, but it’ll be good to get back before I get too lazy.

Yesterday I had the chance to spend some time helping out at a youth organization nearby that hosts an inner-city after school program. We were just there to do some cleaning of the facility, but I ended up with the perfect job – I reorganized their book-shelf. It took a couple of hours. I’m a little on the particular side when it comes to books. But, I just thought it was cool that God gave me the chance to work there and even use my gifts/strengths. I tend to underestimate what my strengths are, but it’s cool to be reminded that God will use them (no matter how big or little) in opportunities like that.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

