The Ugly Duckling, Beautiful Swan

Last night I finished watching the last season of Ugly Betty. My sister and I have been watching it for the last few months. I like Ugly Betty, because I can relate to the main character Betty Suarez. Betty starts out a nerdy girl with braces and glasses who has a dream of being a writer for a magazine that inspires people. She ends up working for a fashion magazine for four years, where she doesn’t fit in at all. Betty has her own bold, unique sense of style that makes her the office joke. I won’t give away the ending, but basically as her time at ‘Mode’ passes, her sense of fashion develops, and she grows into a stronger, more confident, successful woman. Even though Betty is ridiculed at times by everyone she works with, in the end she inspires her coworkers to go for their dreams in the same way she does.

Ugly Betty takes a classic story (ugly duckling turned into beautiful swan) and puts a modern twist on it. One thing I learned last semester, is that writing is about change. Every story, book, or movie you see is essentially going to be about a character’s transformation through various trials. I love the ugly duckling/beautiful swan type of story, because that’s my story. Growing up, I really did feel like the ugly duckling. It took a long time for me to realize and own the fact that I am an attractive, intelligent, capable young woman. The ugly duckling/beautiful swan story is one of self-discovery. It’s not about the other swans seeing that the ugly duckling is actually a swan, it’s about the ugly duckling learning it’s a swan, owning that fact and other people seeing what was there all along as a result.

I guess in some ways, I’m still on this journey of self-discovery and transformation. I can proudly say that I’m about 500x more confident than I was in high school, but I am still figuring out who I am and who I want to be and learning to own that. Even though I complain about being single, I think it’s a good place to be while I’m figuring out who I am. A relationship is about you giving yourself to another person and them giving themselves to you. I want to be able to do that in the healthiest, fullest way possible. A healthy relationship should be two complete, whole people coming together and joining their lives together for an even more full life. So, maybe I’m not a swan yet, but I’m proud of how far I’ve come and looking forward to continuing to grow into who I want to be.

Ephesians 2:10:
10 For we are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago.

 



One thought on “The Ugly Duckling, Beautiful Swan

  1. Never ugly; but I agree with the fact that you have to realize or come to terms with your being a swan. I love the picture at Oakbridge. It reminds me of my kid sister.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

