Even Jesus likes to Skank

Alright, so this week my post will reveal just how much my taste in music has been influenced by my brother. I want highlight the awesomeness of ska; to be specific, the Christian Ska bands Five Iron Frenzy and The O.C. Supertones.

The thing that keeps me listening to the ska songs that I first heard ten years ago, is the profoundness of the lyrics.  Without a doubt Five Iron Frenzy and The O.C.  Supertones both used their music as a tool to worship and glorify God. As I started thinking about writing this post, I wanted to tie in a couple of Bible verses, because the Psalms are filled with instances where music and dancing were used to worship the Lord. Looking through my concordance, I found that these ska bands not only share the common factor of using music to worship the Lord, but they even use the same instruments. When I think of ska, I can’t help but think of the distinct and bright sound of a trumpet. Looking through my Bible, I found a few great instances referring specifically to trumpets.

The first, and most memorable is in the book of Joshua chapter 6. Joshua 6:5 says: “It shall be that when they make a long blast with the ram’s horn, and when you hear the sound of the trumpet, all the people shall shout with a great shout; and the wall of the city will fall down flat.” God calls the Isrealites to march around an enemy’s city for seven days, and to sound the trumpets. When the trumpets sound and the people shout, sure enough the walls come tumbling down and the Isrealites take the city.

2 Chronicles 7: 6: “The preists sood at their posts, and the Levites also, with the instruments of music to the Lord, which King David had made for giving praise to the Lord -‘for His lovingkindness is everlasting’- whenever he gave praise by their means, while the priests… blew trumpets”. The priests blow trumpets as a way to praise God when they dedicate the temple to Him.

Last, but not least, Psalm 150:3 says: “Praise him with the sounding of the trumpet, praise him with harp and lyre.” So basically, praise God with music. Not just music, but the trumpet specifically.

These are three powerful examples. In the first example, God uses musical instruments to bring victory for the Israelites over a city. In the second example, it’s to dedicate the temple to God; the Holy temple which God’s presence and power will reside in. And the third is simply said to praise God. How incredible is it, that we are still using these very instruments in such a different, unique way to praise God as they were using thousands of years ago?

So, if you’re interested, check out these songs:

Five Iron Frenzy:

Far Far Away:

Staring at the shoreline
wishing for some hope
the weight of empty fishing nets
is more than twisted rope
And underneath stern faces
they wait with baited breath
with broken hearts from hoping
while casting out their nets
See the figure on the shore
He speaks His words like plain men sing
His hands they still have holes in them
glory to the King

[Chorus:]
Can you hear the bells are ringing
far, far, away?
Can you hear the voices singing
far, far, away?
I know that one day soon a song shall rise
you’ll hear it with the sleep still in your eyes

And Peter was a liar
a traitor just like me
and Judas was a hypocrite
and Paul a Pharisee
When truth can be so distant
and hope evades our reach
Peter swam across the water
and found it on the beach

I hear they’ll hang you upside down
stretched across two boards
for hearing distant voices
and crossing to the Lord

Far Far Away, FIF

Every New Day:

Every New Day, FIF

On Distant Shores:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MXuBh69voTU

The O.C. Supertones:

So Great a Salvation:

So Great a Salvation

Old Friend:

Old Friend

Louder than the Mob:

I know I'm just another Judas
Kiss Your face while I drive the nail in Your hands
I know I'm just another Thomas
Won't believe 'til I feel the hole in Your hand
Then I will say, "My God
I see not what You see,
My God, what do you see in me?
My God, crowned in glory
The Lamb of God is worthy"
My sin yelled "Crucify"
Louder than the mob that day
My sin yelled "Crucify"
Louder than any mouth
My sin yelled "Crucify"
Louder than the mob that day
My sin yelled "Crucify
Crucify, crucify-y-y"
Then I will say, "My God
I see not what You see,
My God, what do you see in me?
My God, crowned in glory
The Lamb of God is worthy"

Louder than the Mob
2 thoughts on “Even Jesus likes to Skank

  1. I like this one. I think I’ll be pulling out some old favorite albums. I still love ska, but unfortunately haven’t had any new albums added to my list since FIF broke up.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

