I Wish Life Was Like a TV Show

I was watching Gilmore Girls this week with my husband. It was an episode where Rory’s ex-boyfriend Jess shows up to see Rory. He’s a high school drop out that she hasn’t seen in awhile, and comes to tell her that he’s written a book and is working in a small publishing company that a guy he knows started. As I watched, I let out a sigh and my husband asked what was wrong (yes I am that dramatic). I asked how he – a high school drop out and bum in the earlier episodes- wrote a book and is working in publishing. I mean, I’m an averagely motivated person. I could be more driven and focused, but I do try hard and come back to pursuing the things I want over and over again. I haven’t written a book. I don’t have a job working for a small publisher. He just rolled his eyes at me and told me it was just a TV show.

I know it’s just a show, but it’s so frustrating to see things on TV that don’t seem like a real possibility in life. Who do all these jobs go to? How do they even get there? In the movie Postgrad also starring Alexis Bleidel, she gets super frustrated because she’s worked hard in college and can’t get a job after. That was my life! That was the life of most of my friends. Unlike Alexis Bleidel, however, it didn’t end with us getting our dream jobs after a tough summer. Instead you work and work and work and life still seems like an unclear path. And this is true for, I think, the majority of people. You go through college, working hard, excited about your future and what you’re studying and then when you get out, all the structure you’ve had for the last 16 years is out the window. There’s no clear cut, do this and get an A. A lot of my friends who have the careers they worked hard for in college aren’t even happy in those careers. So, I guess I’m stumped. I don’t know how Alexis Bleidel can do it in Gilmore Girls and Postgrad. I guess it’s my own fault for not going to Chilton and Yale like Rory.

How do you feel about your job? Did school prepare you for this? Is there a career you want but have no idea how to get to?

One thought on “I Wish Life Was Like a TV Show

  1. I love that you are blogging more lately! I could totally see you sighing and saying these exact things after this episode 🙂 I guess I am working in my field and I do like it, but it is not like a glamorous TV show or movie, haha. And it was a hell of a lot of work!!! AND I spent all my time in grad school studying and interning and having health problems and there were not multiple men flocking after me without me even trying. So there’s that. I’m still waiting to discover that I have a rich distant relative that wants to pay off my college debt.

    I love you! We’re still young. One day I’ll finally find a husband just as you’re finishing you’re first book 😉

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

