Dudley Dursley a Delicate Flower or Boorish Oaf

It’s been awhile since I’ve written. Things have been going well. I’ve been doing a good amount of reading this year, and trying to follow up with more writing as well. I’ve been working my way through the Harry Potter series for the first time. I know, it’s crazy that I haven’t read it before since I’m really into children’s literature. I finally gave into my husband and picked up the books. After the second one I was hooked. I just started the fifth one recently, and haven’t even gotten to the half way point.

Everytime I’ve picked up the next book in the series, I get annoyed with how one-sided Harry’s perspective of the Dursleys are. It seems like an English thing to make out characters to be total idiots without a redeeming quality in them. All of the characters, good or bad, in the wizard world are complex but the Dursleys are just flat and supposed to be complete fools. Nobody is that simple, unfortunately. So I decided to write a little something from Dudley’s perspective. It only represents him as far as I’ve read, which is the beginning of book 5, but here it is:

Dudley’s Journal Entry:

I know I should love my cousin and even feel sorry for him. His parents died when he was a baby, but all I can be is jealous of him. I’m the lucky one. I was born into a family where both of my parents lived. I am growing up with loads of cash, unlike my poor, pathetic cousin – but I still wish I had his exciting life.

When we were younger I was mostly just jealous at how easily everything came to him. He’s a string bean compared to me, who has a little bit of a spare tire. And even though he doesn’t have parents, people have always seemed to take special attention when it comes to him. Even when people didn’t know he didn’t have parents, they still seemed to randomly just pick him to win raffles or want to meet him.

For being such a big kid, I feel invisible. My family is always pouring all their love and affection on me in front of him. Especially since he got into that “special” school of his. It’s non-stop from my parents about how much they disapprove of him. But, the only time they appreciate what I do is in comparison to Harry. “Great job meeting my boss Dudley, too bad Harry had to go and ruin the whole night anyways.” “Great job on your boxing championship, Dudley, unlike that Potter boy off torturing people with his magic.” I don’t understand why they can’t just appreciate me for me.

You would think it would be fun to have a cousin so close to my age – that we would be like brothers, but from the start he’s never taken an interest in anything I’ve been interested in. Even when I would go out of my way to invite him to play video games, he would stick up his nose at it. Do you know how hard it is to play some games with one person? Or sometimes it’s just boring as crap.

I thought this summer would be better, since I knew he had gotten into his magic sports thing, and I had gotten into boxing. But then as soon as he got home, all he cared about was the stupid news. Is he really so intellectual that he can’t just go out and hang out with my friends. I didn’t even bother asking, because I knew he wouldn’t be in to friends who don’t have magic.

The other thing with Harry is that things always work out for him in the end. He ruins my dad’s dinner with his boss, but then takes off for school like a night later and I’m the one who is left hearing all the complaining and “good riddance” from my dad.

I guess the last thing about all of this is what a bully Harry is. I know I’m the bigger guy, and to anybody else it would seem like some stupid joke. But his favorite thing to do is call me a name, and then when I go to defend myself he threatens to use magic on me. I know he’s not supposed to use it when he’s home for the summer, but I’m living in constant terror. What will he do to me if I look at him the wrong way? Can he read my mind? Is he going to grow up and come after me when he has mastered this whole magic thing? I guess some people are just meant to be the black sheep.

That’s it! Thanks for reading. Feel free to comment below. Just remember I’ve only read to the beginning of book 5, so no spoilers please!!!!!!!! Also I made no attempt to sound English, it was just a fun writing exercise, so don’t judge me for that! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Dudley Dursley a Delicate Flower or Boorish Oaf

  1. It was a good read, I tried to read Harry Potter, but I couldn’t get past the first chapter. I think you have a God given gift for writing and one day I’ll read a signed book written by Regan Carmona…..

  2. Let me just say, I would love for you to do some more Harry Potter writing exercises!!! I won’t give any spoilers, but after reading all the books I think you might be giving Dudley slightly too much credit, lol. I do like that part about him being jealous of Harry and annoyed that his parents constantly reference him. That sounds spot on. The part about him wanting Harry to hang out with him might be stretch though! Tell me what you think when you finish the series! I would love to hear something from another lesser known character’s perspective….or even one of the main players. It’s always nice to hear another character’s perspective! Like Ron maybe? You know he’s my favorite 🙂 I just read an “extra” from an author that took a major scene from another character’s perspective and it was so interesting. Sooo….you should do that!!! 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

