30 Life Update

It’s been a crazy year, and I haven’t been very good at writing in my blog. The good news is, I have squeezed some writing in. I wrote a short story that was changed into a comic by an artist for a comic anthology. It’s coming out next month, and I’ve bought some copies in advance to sell to whoever wants one. But – it’s a very short story, and it was drawn by another person and that’s just one small piece of a bigger anthology with other people’s works. So, it’s very small potatoes. I am excited though to have my name actually put with something I wrote – even if it is so not a big deal. I’ve never even written anything for a school newspaper or anything, so for me it’s exciting. Plus, everything is a learning experience.

I’ve been working a lot, and had a lot of ups and downs this year. I lost two family members within a month of each other,so August was not a good month. It’s one of those things where you’re glad you don’t have to see someone you love suffer anymore, but at the same time it’s like – I really miss them and just wish they hadn’t passed away regardless of the circumstances. So telling yourself they aren’t suffering anymore sometimes just seems like a load of crap. But maybe that’s just a part of the grieving process, to think that all the cliches are just a load of crap.

I turned 30 last month! I was worried about it and feeling  a little bad about myself before, but once it actually came I had a great party, my husband took me hiking out of town the weekend before – and it turned out to be a pretty good birthday. I’m 30 now, so I can quit caring what people think and learn to let the stupid stuff go. Right? I’m an adult. Even though becoming an adult just means you realize that you feel all the same things you felt as a kid, but are expected to act more maturely on those feelings. Well, hopefully I can at least let go of some of the expectations I feel like people put on me. I’m not sure if it’s my imagination or if there actually are those expectations, but for some reason if the expectations are there then I’m definitely not living up to them. My house isn’t always clean (and is usually pretty far from it), I don’t make it to church every week, and we don’t have a baby. That’s just the way it is for now and that’s all there is to it.

Anyways, that’s all the excitement here! Hopefully I’ll get a few more posts in before 2017 sneaks up on us!

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

